About ISAIF 14th

Motivation & Objectives

The International Symposium on Experimental and Computational Aerothermodynamics of Internal Flows (ISAIF) presents the most recent developments in experimental and computational research, as well as industrial and technological advances in the fields of fluid dynamics and aerothermodynamics of internal flows.

Particular emphasis will be given to the following areas:
• Flows in fans, compressors, turbines, intakes, nozzles, hydraulic machines and channels
• Transonic, supersonic and hypersonic flows
• Compressible internal flows
• Laminar and turbulent boundary layer flows, transition and separation
• Active and passive flow control
• Flow induced noise & vibrations, noise generation and reduction
• Multiphase flows and reacting flows
• Environmental flows and renewable energy
• Bio-fluidics and micro & nano-flows
• Flow and heat measurement
• Mass and heat transfer
• Other related topics

ISAIF was organized for the first time in 1990 in the People´s Republic of China with the intention of encouraging scientific and technical cooperation between Asia and Europe. It is now extending this mission to all the continents around the world. The meetings were originally held every three years. Since 1999, we meet every second year to activate not only the scientific and technical communication but also the friendship among our members. Meetings are organized alternatively in Asia and Europe.
The main goal of the ISAIF is to review recent progress achieved in internal fluid mechanics and aerothermodynamics by the exchange of results and discussions on major internal flow problems among scientists and engineers in this field. The organizers would like to promote a broad cooperation and exchange of new ideas between specialists in order to consolidate recent advances in the fundamental knowledge of aerodynamics and the thermal processes involved.

Past meetings

1st – 1990 Beijing, China
2nd – 1993 Prague, Czech Republic
3rd – 1996 Beijing, China
4th – 1999 Dresden, Germany
5th – 2001 Gdansk, Poland
6th – 2003 Shanghai, China
7th – 2005 Tokyo, Japan
8th – 2007 Lyon, France
9th – 2009 Gyeongju, Korea
10th – 2011 Brussels, Belgium
11th – 2013 Shenzhen, China
12th – 2015 Genova, Italy
13th – 2017 Okinawa, Japan